Citations, Appeals and Enforcement

Citations and Penalties

Citations for parking violations are no longer printed and left on the vehicle, but are now sent to your uncc.edu email account. Links are provided for online payment or to submit an appeal. Citations may also be paid by mail or in person at the PaTS Office.

The first citation of the academic year is automatically reduced by 50% if paid within 10 business days from date of issue (unless citation was for forged, altered or stolen credential or physical permit; failure to pay visitor parking fee; or parking in or blocking access to space or accessibility ramp for the disabled). All subsequent penalties must be paid at full value. 

Neither Parking and Transportation Services (PaTS) nor UNC Charlotte gain financial benefit from citation fines*.

VIOLATION FEE
Obscured license plate $20
Shared permit/credential violation $60
Failure to pay fee in visitor parking $50
Meter/mobile payment time violation $30
Parking in improper area for permit $40
Registration violation $60
Parking without valid permit $80
Removing, breaking or forcing open gate or tampering with LPR cameras $80
Removing or tampering with immobilization device (boot) $80
Parking in a reserved space, tow-away zone or fire lane $150
Parking in or blocking access to a space or accessibility ramp for the disabled $250
Forged, altered or stolen credential or permit $450

*According to North Carolina law, the University is only allowed to retain 20% of the money collected from parking citations. The remaining 80% must be remitted to the state to support local public schools (elementary, middle and high schools).
The 20% that UNC Charlotte is allowed to keep is earmarked to cover operating costs for citation collections. Unfortunately, the cost of the enforcement and collections program significantly exceeds this amount.

Alleged moving violations may result in a citation to District Court, Mecklenburg County, as prescribed by North Carolina State Law.

Click here to pay a citation.

Payment

The first citation of the academic year is automatically reduced by 50% if paid within 10 business days from date of issue (unless citation was for forged, altered or stolen credential or physical permit; failure to pay visitor parking fee; or parking in or blocking access to space or accessibility ramp for the disabled). All subsequent penalties must be paid at full value. 

If paying a citation at the PaTS office, please have the vehicle's license plate number or the citation number. Failure to provide this information may delay the processing of the payment.

Payment methods include:

  • 49er Account
  • Cash
  • Check
  • Credit (Visa/Mastercard/American Express only)

Failure to pay parking citations may result in:

  • Students: Charges to the student's University account. Failure to pay all University debt will result in denial of registration and/or issuance of transcripts.
  • Faculty/Staff: Deduction from University payroll check.
  • Non-affiliated Visitors: Charges may be submitted for collection through an independent agency.

Vehicles with four (4) or more outstanding citations are subject to being IMMOBILIZED or TOWED and may have parking privileges revoked for the remainder of the academic year. Once a vehicle is placed on the Tow List, all outstanding citations must be paid in full for the vehicle to be removed from the list.

Appeals

Appeals must be filed within 10 business days of the citation issuance and may be submitted online or in person. Please allow 24 hours from time of issuance to file appeal. All appeals are read and considered; decisions are emailed. 

Appeals should be limited to one of the following arguments:

  • The vehicle was not in violation of University parking regulations at the time of the citation.
  • An extenuating circumstance beyond the operator's control placed the vehicle in violation.

Examples of seldom-granted appeals:

  • Lack of knowledge of parking regulations
  • Overtime parking at meters, including parking at a malfunctioning meter
  • Hazard lights are on
  • Failure to notify Parking Services when a vehicle is inoperable
  • Your vehicle was loaned/driven by someone else
  • Forgetting to display a valid parking permit
  • Inability to find a legally-marked parking space
  • Parking in a reserved space without the proper permit
  • Failure to obtain a temporary permit or loading permit
  • Dropping off homework assignment or seeing the instructor
  • Did not purchase the permit in time
  • Held up late from an appointment or class

File an Appeal

Immobilization Device

Any vehicle on the University Tow List or vehicle that cannot be identified by license plate or VIN is subject to immobilization (boot). The immobilization device will be removed for a fee of $75 plus any unpaid citations and after registering the vehicle at the Parking and Transportation Services (PaTS) Office.